Society Medals Awarded in 2014

Bill Hedley FRPSL, Hon. Secretary

At the Council meeting on 20 March, the awarding of this year's Society Medals was decided. The awards are:

Honorary Fellowship

Christopher Harman RDP FRPSL for many years' service to the Society, especially as President and Chairman of the Expert Committee.

Crawford Medal for the most valuable and original contribution to the study and knowledge of philately published in book form

Peter van der Molen RDPSA FRPSL for Swaziland Philately to 1968.

Tapling Medal for the best paper in The London Philatelist

Francis Podger FRPSL for "Singapore: The Use and Development of Revenue Impressed Stamps", Volume 121, pp344-364, November 2012, and Volume 122, pp 250-261, September 2013.

Tilleard Medal for the best 1 pm display to the Society

Gustaf Douglas FRPSL for "Classic Sweden" shown to the Society on 31 October 2013.

Lee Medal for the best 5 pm paper to the Society

Richard Stock FRPSL for "Sudan: The development of Postal Communications (1845-1928)" presented to the Society on 15 November 2012.

Royal Philatelic Society London Medal

There are three awards this year:

Brian Birch FRPSL for outstanding service to the Library and Archive Maggie Thompson FRPSL for continuous commitment to the Expert Committee Philip Robinson FRPSL for many years support to *The London Philatelist*.

Special Award

In recognition of the centenary of the death of The Earl of Crawford, the Society is pleased to make a special award recognising the outstanding book *Milestones of the Philatelic Literature of the 19th Century / Les jalons de la littérature philatélique au XIXe siècle* by Wolfgang Maassen FRPSL and Vincent Schouberechts FRPSL.

These medals will be presented at the Society's AGM on Thursday 26 June 2014 at 5 pm.