## The Royal Philatelic Society London

41 Devonshire Place, London W1G 6JY

Tel: 020 7486 1044 Fax: 020 7486 0803

Web site: www.rpsl.org.uk Email: secretary@rpsl.org.uk



## PRESS RELEASE

## Royal recognises outstanding achievements

At the Annual General Meeting of The Royal Philatelic Society London in June, Brian Trotter began his second year as President, with Chris King confirmed as Senior Vice President. The Society elected Alan Holyoake as Honorary Treasurer, and Jonathan Cartwright as Honorary Librarian.

At the meeting Brian Trotter was pleased to announce that two members had been awarded the MBE in The Queen's Birthday Honours for service to Philately. They are Past President, David Beech, and member of Council, Richard West.

Following the meeting the Society's annual awards were presented as follows:

The Crawford Medal - awarded for the most valuable and original contribution to the study and knowledge of philately published in book form during the relative period: to David Tett for *A Postal History of the Prisoners of War and Civilian Internees in East Asia during the Second World War* (in six volumes).

The Tilleard Medal - awarded for the best large display of any aspect of philately given by one, or not more than two, Fellow or Member during the relevant period: to Bjorn Sohrne for Persia Postal History – early periods up to the 1930s.

The Lee Medal - awarded for the best paper dealing with any aspect of philately given by one Fellow or Member during the relevant period: to David Tett for Prisoners' Mail in East Asia during the Second World War.

The Tapling Medal - awarded for the best paper written by a Fellow or Member and published in *The London Philatelist*: to Robert I. Johnson for Cape of Good Hope, 1882 to 1884.

In addition, outstanding work on behalf of the Society was recognised by the presentation of three of the Society's London Medal. These were presented to:

Steve Jarvis, for services to the Society in organising its IT infrastructure, its online catalogue and website, and in particular the formatting of library data from third parties;

Mike Fulford, for his outstanding contribution through the Library, the Finance Committee and as Honorary Treasurer;

John Shaw, for his outstanding service through many years of dedication to the Expert Committee.



The recipients of the Medals awarded by the Society (left to right): Bjorn Sohrne, David Tett, Robert I. Johnson.



The recipients of the London Medal (left to right):
John Shaw, Michael Fulford, Steve Jarvis.